Louisiana Board of Pharmacy - State of Louisiana

Print RSS Share This Site
photo-pharmacist State of Louisiana

Marijuana Pharmacies


Pursuant to Act 261 of the 2015 Legislature and Act 96 of the 2016 Legislature, the Board of Pharmacy completed the rulemaking process to develop a nontransferable specialty license for a pharmacy to dispense marijuana for therapeutic purposes.  The Board's Final Rule was published in the August 20, 2017 edition of the Louisiana Register with an immediate effective date.

The enabling legislation placed a limit on the number of marijuana pharmacy permits; no more than ten such permits may be active at the same time.  To implement the legislative mandate for an equitable geographic distribution of the marijuana pharmacies across the state, the Board recognizes the nine regions of the state established by the Department of Health, allocating one marijuana pharmacy permit to each region.  The nine regions and their associated parishes are identified here:

  • Acadian  (Acadia, Evangeline, Iberia, Lafayette, St. Landry, St. Mary, and Vermilion)
  • Capitol  (Ascension, East Baton Rouge, East Feliciana, Iberville, Pointe Coupee, West Baton Rouge, and West Feliciana)
  • Central  (Avoyelles, Catahoula, Concordia, Grant, LaSalle, Rapides, Vernon, and Winn)
  • Metropolitan  (Jefferson, Orleans, Plaquemines, and St. Bernard)
  • Northeast  (Caldwell, East Carroll, Franklin, Jackson, Lincoln, Madison, Morehouse, Ouachita, Richland, Tensas, Union, and West Carroll)
  • Northwest  (Bienville, Bossier, Caddo, Claiborne, DeSoto, Natchitoches, Red River, Sabine, and Webster)
  • Southeast  (Livingston, St. Helena, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, and Washington)
  • Southwest  (Allen, Beauregard, Calcasieu, Cameron, and Jefferson Davis)
  • Teche  (Assumption, Lafourche, St. Charles, St. James, St. John, St. Mary, and Terrebonne)

Solicitation No. 1:
> Date of Issue: August 31, 2017
> Deadline for Applications: 4:00 p.m. on Friday, September 29, 2017.
> This solicitation invites applications for marijuana pharmacy permits in all nine regions of the state.
> This Solicitation of Applications for Marijuana Pharmacy Permits package contains four documents:
          Notice of Intent to Award Marijuana Pharmacy Permits
          Application Form for New Louisiana Marijuana Pharmacy Permit
          Application Form for Therapeutic Marijuana Designation
          Guidance for Applicants & Evaluation Criteria
> The anticipated timeline for the Board's evaluation and selection of successful applications is presented on the final page of the Notice of Intent document included in the Solicitation package above.

The tenth marijuana pharmacy permit may be issued at a future date not yet designated following a determination of need as indicated by the volume of dispensing transactions in all of the marijuana pharmacies over a period of time not yet defined.

Questions about Solicitation No. 1 not answered by the documents in the Solicitation package or the Final Rule should be directed to info@pharmacy.la.gov.